Read in : தமிழ்

Uzbekistan beat Netherlands at 2 ½ – 1 ½ to come on top in chess final. With three boards entering a tie, Jakhongir Vakhidov winning Max warmerdam, helped the Uzbeks with a decisive gold in the Olympiad scoring 19 match points.

Armenia beat Spain at 2 ½ – 1 ½ . Gabriel Sargissian’s win against Alexei Shirov helped the team at the end of the final round as the other boards went to tie. With a loss in its sheet, Armenia stood second with 19 match points.

The Gaprindashvili Cup, awarded to the best federation, went to India A at rank 7 (Men 4, Women 3) followed by the US with rank 9 and India B with rank 11.

Young Indians D Gukesh (Board 1) and Nihal sarin (Board 2) won gold medals for their best individual performances in this Olympiad.

India A drew with the US. Pentala Harikrishna (vs Fabiano Caruana) and Vidit Santhosh Gujrathi (vs So Wesley) drew their boards. SL Narayanan’s loss to Sam Shankland was balanced by Arjun Erigaisi’s win against Leinier Dominguez Perez. India A had to console itself with the fourth place in the Olympiad.

Also Read:

Round 10: Praggnanandhaa win makes up for Gukesh loss 

Round 9: Team B draws with Azerbaijan, women’s team shines

Winning Leinier Dominguez Perez in the round 11, Arjun Erigaisi reached 2700 mark in live rating, becoming the seventh Indian grandmaster to achieve this feat. After exchanging rook for rook, a bishop and two knights remained on either side. Arjun played white. Strengthening his moves with knights and pawns, he locked the black king thrice. Leinier was answering defensively. With a passed pawn, Leinier resigned in the endgame.

India B won against Germany 3 – 1. Nihal Sarin (vs Mathias Bluebaum) and Raunak Sadhwani (vs Liviu Dieter Nisipeanu) won in their boards while Gukesh (vs Vincent Keymar) and Praggnaanandha (vs Rasmus Svane) drew their matches. India B had to settle with the bronze medal scoring 18 matchpoints.

India C drew with Kazakhstan. Sethuraman (vs Alisher Suleymenov) and Abhimanyu Puranik (vs Kazybek Nogerbek) drew their matches. Surya Sekhar Ganguly’s Loss (vs Rinat Jumabayev) was balanced by Murali Karthikeyan’s win (vs Arystanbek Urazayev).

In the women’s category, Ukraine beat Poland at 3 – 1 with 18 match points and Georgia beat Azerbaijan at 3 – 1 with 18 match points (plus a loss). These decisive victories helped them surpass the Indian A team, to win the Gold and Silver respectively.

 India A, which was in the lead until the 10th round, lost its grip in its final duel with the US at 1 – 3 and had to console itself with the bronze scoring 17 matchpoints. Koneru Humpy (vs Gulrukhbegim Tokhirjonova) and Vaishali (vs Irina Krush) entered the tie on their boards. Tania Sachdev (vs Carissa Yip) and Bhakti Kulkarni (vs Tatev Abhrahamyan) lost on their boards.

India B had a tie with Slovakia, with Vantika Agrawal (vs Zuzana Borosova) and Mary Ann Gomes (vs Zuzana Hagarova) drawing their matches. Divya Desmukh (vs Svetlana Sucikova) won on her board saving the loss of Padmini Rout (vs Eva Repkova).

India C lost to Kazakhstan at 1 ½ – 2 ½. Pratyusha Bodda’s win (vs Guliskhan Nakhbayeva) and Sahithi Varshini’s draw (vs Xeniya Balabayeva) could not tally for the losses of Nandhidhaa PV (vs Bibisara Assaubayeva ) and Eesha Karawade (vs Zhansaya Abdumalik).

Share the Article

Read in : தமிழ்

Why we always find lots of cashews on top of Deepavali mixture why tangedco need to pay us for damaging household appliances why eating on banana leaves is healthier What the Tamil Nadu Organic policy needs what is the real story of onam festival