The ruling AIADMK is seeking to isolate rebel leader TTV Dinakaran, by seeking to disqualify four more party MLAs who are his supporters. The AIADMK, emboldened by the recent High Court order disqualifying 18 MLAs who are supporters of Dinakaran, wants to crush the Dinakaran camp using the disqualification weapon. Tamil Nadu  is thus poised for 24 by-elections in the State which could be something of a record in the country.

S Karunas, Thiruvadanai MLA, who was recently imprisoned for a hate speech against chief minister Edappadi Palaniswami, and three other AIADMK MLAs who are extending support to AMMK deputy general secretary TTV Dhinakaran — A Prabhu (Kallakurichi), E Rathinasabapathy (Aranthangi) and VT Kalaiselvan (Vriddhachalam) – are likely to be the next victims of the drive against the Dinakaran group.

The Government whip belonging to the AIADMK, S Rajendran, has submitted a letter to the Speaker asking him to take action against the four MLAs under the Anti-Defection Act.

On Monday, hectic discussions were held in the Speaker’s chamber at the Secretariat, in which Advocate-General Vijay Narayanan and Assembly Secretary K Srinivasan took part. Senior Ministers P Thangamani and SP Velumani also met the Speaker. Earlier in the day, Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami and Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam called on the Speaker.

AIADMK Whip S Rajendran has sought action  against the four MLAs, reportedly under section 6 of the anti-defection law. Rajendran is said to have enclosed ‘documentary evidence; to prove the charge.

It is learnt that the Speaker would shortly issue show-cause notices to these four MLAs, asking why action should not be taken against them under the provisions of the anti-defection law.

Though Karunas, a representative of Mukkulathor Pulipadai, he was elected on the AIADMK symbol of Two Leaves during the 2016 Assembly elections and as such, technically he is an AIADMK MLA. He is now out on conditional bail after arrest for making alleged derogatory remarks against the chief minister and for making casteist remarks.

The other three MLAs were recently seen in the Dinakaran camp at Kuttralam and at the Dinakaran meeting with the 18 disqualified MLAs.

One of the charges against these MLAs is that they have been given party posts in the AMMK.

The next round of disqualification, as predicted by more than a month ago, is to begin shortly.

If the Speaker disqualifies them – which could take place after giving an opportunity for a hearing in his chamber, the House would have 24 vacancies. By-polls would probably be held along with the other 20, sometime in January or February 2019.


Share the Article
Why we always find lots of cashews on top of Deepavali mixture why tangedco need to pay us for damaging household appliances why eating on banana leaves is healthier What the Tamil Nadu Organic policy needs what is the real story of onam festival